Where Do We Go From Here?

Chalk Drawing

I grew up in the Northwest, where the weather is so volatile they’ve developed a saucy little saying – “If you don’t like the weather, just wait 5 minutes, it’ll change.”

As I think of it, that’s pretty much true of everything on this planet, including us – nothing is permanent, everything is transitory. A meteor could knock us into the next dimension. The sun could go supernova and swallow us whole. A stone gargoyle could slip off a rooftop and bonk me on the head.

Of course, intellectually, we know this – the fleeting nature of life. It’s all over pop culture – how fragile we are, all we are is dust in the wind. Yet I tend to slip and slide through the years as if I’m going to live forever.

But I’m not.

I’m all for living life to the fullest. But I can’t live life to the fullest without pausing to contemplate the temporal, and how best to live life when facing the eternal. Now is not everything. There will be a then. The trick is understanding that how I live now determines how I live then.

And it behooves me to take a breath and remember that from time to time.

Leave a Reply

