Don’t Blame God

Don't Blame God 3a

Ever been in a small gathering and someone gets up to sing a song? And before they start they say, “God gave me this song.”  Then they play.

And it’s awful.

Is that God’s fault? I’ll readily admit that His agenda and mine are often radically different, and that He quite often uses someone’s bad work to accomplish His good ends. But still, did the Creator of the universe really give that song to that singer?

A gift is one thing. But just the starting point. The gift is not the end, it’s just the beginning. The rest comes by my own blood, sweat, and tears.

Of course, it makes me wonder what people think then they look at my work. In many instances I all too easily settle for good instead of great. But why not go for the gold? Is that God’s fault? Am I poor, helpless Salieri to everyone else’s Mozart, or do I need to look in a mirror, take stock, take action?

Certainly not everyone’s gift is at the same level. But I am fully responsible for what I have received. Me. No one else. “From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked.”

There are all kinds of things I can do to improve myself, to level up, to make a change. Am I willing – or am I complacent?

Stretch or shrink – in the long run, there is no middle ground.

Leave a Reply

